Attached. 

Addicted to coffee. Addicted. I am not a fan of the word. Such a negative connotation.

I much prefer to say attachment. That probably explains the relationship of the gorgeous cup of magic and me. There is no better feeling than a cup of hot pure roast coffee first thing in the morning. I do not know a better way to start my day. 

There was a time when I used to have three to four cups a day. The essential morning wake me up cup. Then there was the meetings that always served coffee. Chatting to girlfriends mid day included some hot caffeine and the most essential was the 4pm cup. One that helped me get through the rest of the day.

Coffee is actually a super food. It has antioxidants that are good for you. But like most things, anything in excess comes with side effects. Over consumption has been linked to sleep issues, anxiety and increasing stress levels to name a few. Having understood the importance of reducing caffeine in a day, I decided to work on taking it off my daily menu.

I decided to bring it down to one a day. But let me tell you, it was not easy. Deciding between the morning cup and the afternoon cup was a dilemma. I tried alternates to coffee, the root coffee’s (chicory etc). It did not have the charisma that my strong coffee beans could charm me with. It had to be shown a cold shoulder.

The formula that did work for me in the end was to close my eyes and think of the perfect bliss moment. Was it in the morning or at 4pm when you feel sluggish. And as you may have guessed the morning cup won the battle. It took about two weeks before my natural cravings stopped for that 4pm cup. Now in the afternoon I go for a walk or if I cannot I drink a smoothie with some wheatgrass.

 These photos are from my weekend mid morning cup that I cherish the most. I hope you enjoy them. 

Leave a Reply

